Photo album: November 2011
Calender 2012 with pictures of the Art Nouveau (Jugendstil, Secession) in Timişoara / Temeswar
We conclude the presentation of the Secession monuments in this part of the town with the oldest of Timişoara's preserved bridges. The names above correspond to different ethnic and / or political situations along the time: at the moment of the construction the Hungarian was the official language, but the German was the language of the largest ethnic group, while Romanian is the language today. The people of Timişoara know it by the name "Decebal Bridge", which is utterly uninspired. It was planned to be a monumental bridge, standing on an important boulevard – the connection between the downtown ("Fortress" district – the "Inner City") and the former suburb Fabric. The ornaments of the pillars – which are shaped as elephant heads, can be seen as part of the effort of the style of the 1900s to reinvent symbols, to find a new and daring artistic language for common things. But the bridge was far from common from the technical point of view: the engineer Mihailich Gyözö (university professor in Budapest, born in Recaş, close to Timişoara) erected here the bridge on concrete beams with the largest opening in Europe at those times. The architect was Körössy Albert. The construction of the bridge is connected to the much larger project of reconfiguring the flow path of the Bega in the Fabric district of Timişoara. Till the beginning of the XX-th century, in this area the river was naturally split in many branches, a situation which was consciously maintained for centuries, since it provided the water power for mills and other small industrial facilities. Hence the Fabric district has been having the outlook of a "small Venice". Romantic as it looked, the dams of the mills caused a high level of the underground waters – wet walls inside the houses were quite common. So, at the same time with the demolition of the fortress' walls, the city administration also operated after 1900 other radical changes in the Fabric: the secondary branches of the Bega were closed (leveled) and the entire water flow was brought into one new canal. The huge construction site lasted seven years, also comprising the building of three new bridges. This one is the only one of them surviving, the other two were replaced while under communist rule. Still, the bass-reliefs of the Mill-Bridge could be saved; they depict traditional works connected to the Bega river – like the "sandmen" (they were collecting sand out of the river bed, just upstream of the town).
In the autumn of 2011 we realised a calendar aimed at presenting the astonishing heritage of Timisoara to the world. Our pictures show special buildings and monuments from special angles – we want to open new perspectives to the history of Timisoara. On the page of each month we have a large picture of a detail of the Art Nouveau architecture of Timisoara; this architecture is also known as Jugendstil or Secession (the last name is very popular in our town) or, plainly, "style 1900", and makes up an important part of our city tours of Timisoara. On the back side of each month's page there's more information about the depicted monument – now you can read that info here in this photo album.
The calender were aimed to be gifts to our friends, customers and guests. In the meantime we have already started working for the calendar 2013!
tymes tours is owned by SC Tymes Globetrotter SRL
Str. Lisabona nr. 7/1A, Timisoara, RO 300603, email@example.com
Tourism licence no. 3196/2004